HISTORY
Rental apartment buildings in Austria

Forward planning, intelligent investments

Privately backed rental apartment buildings have a long tradition in Austria.

For centuries, prosperous citizens built family retreats that reflected their social standing, often in the style of small – and in some cases expansive – mansion houses. Many of them have been preserved to this day, and their solid cores make them particularly attractive residential properties.

Between the mid-19th and early 20th centuries, Austria witnessed an unprecedented economic and social boom. Around the start of the 20th century, Vienna was the world’s fourth-largest city, after New York, Paris and London. This period was labelled the Gründerzeit era, in light of the massive upturn in entrepreneurship and culture. At that time, relatively broad sections of the population enjoyed rising prosperity, and the demand for high-value, upscale residential space grew.

Illustrious Gründerzeit rental apartment buildings sprang up in Vienna and across Austria, with architecture that took its cue from the ancient Greek and Roman styles, which came to be known as neoclassicism. These properties stand out for their ornate architecture with imposing entrances and high ceilings. The exceptional quality of the living space was down to the exclusive use of natural construction materials like brick and timber. As a result, demand for apartments in such properties was strong.

  • Baroque and Biedermeier (18th and 19th century
  • Gründerzeit and belle époque (19th and early 20th century
  • Post-1950 (“new builds”)
  • Neoclassical style
  • Ornate facades
  • Generously proportioned stairwells
  • High ceilings
  • Pleasant ambience (timber and brickwork)
  • Rents regulated by the Mietrechtsgesetz (Rent Act)
  • Translates into security for tenants and lessors, as well as building owners
  • No neoclassical design
  • Plain facades
  • More efficient use of space
  • Normal ceiling heights
  • No restrictions on rents

DIE GESCHICHTE
Zinshäuser in Österreich

Langfristig denken. Intelligent investieren.

Die Geschichte des österreichischen Zinshauses reicht lange zurück.

Seit Jahrhunderten bauten wohlhabende Bürger für ihre Familien standesgemässe Refugien, oft im Stil kleiner oder auch grösserer Paläste. Viele davon stehen heute noch und sind aufgrund ihrer guten Bausubstanz besonders beliebte Wohngebäude.

Ab der Mitte des 19. bis ins beginnende 20. Jahrhundert erlebte Österreich einen einzigartigen wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Boom. Um 1900 war Wien die viertgrösste Stadt der Welt – nach New York, Paris und London. Diese Epoche wird als Gründerzeit bezeichnet, weil Unternehmertum und Kultur ungeheuren Aufschwung erfuhren. Im Zuge dessen gelangten relativ breite Bevölkerungsschichten zu Wohlstand – es wuchs das Bedürfnis nach hochwertigem, repräsentativem Wohnraum.

So entstanden in Wien und ganz Österreich die berühmten Gründerzeit-Zinshäuser, deren Architekturstil sich an der griechischen und römischen Antike orientierte – daher der Name Neoklassizismus. Sie zeichnen sich durch grosszügige Architektur mit repräsentativen Eingangsbereichen und hohen Räumen aus. Auch ihre Wohnqualität ist hervorragend: Bei ihrer Errichtung wurden nur natürliche Baustoffe wie Ziegel und Holz eingesetzt. Daher herrscht rege Nachfrage nach Wohnungen in diesen Häusern.

  • Barock, Biedermeier (18. und 19. Jahrhundert)
  • Gründerzeit, Belle Epoque (19. und beginnendes 20. Jahrhundert)
  • nach 1950 („Neubau“)
  • Stil des Neoklassizismus
  • prächtige Fassaden
  • großzügige Stiegenhäuser
  • hohe Räume
  • angenehmes Raumklima (Baustoffe Holz und Ziegel)
  • geregelte Mieten aufgrund des Mietrechtsgesetzes (MRG)
  • bedeutet Sicherheit für beide Seiten, auch für den Eigentümer
  • kein Neoklassizismus
  • glatte Fassaden
  • effizientere Raumnutzung
  • normale Raumhöhen
  • frei vereinbare Höhe des Mietzinses